News & Publications

Applications Being Accepted for 2022 New York AEM Leopold Conservation Award

NOTE: The application/nomination deadline has been moved from May 1 to May 27, 2022.

New York State Agriculture Commissioner Richard A. Ball today announced that applications are open for New York State’s 2022 Agricultural Environmental Management (AEM) Leopold Conservation Award.

Sand County Foundation presents the Leopold Conservation Award to private landowners in 23 states for extraordinary achievement in voluntary conservation. In New York the $10,000 award is presented annually with national sponsor American Farmland Trust, and state partners: New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets, and Cornell Cooperative Extension.

Given in honor of renowned conservationist Aldo Leopold, the award recognizes landowners who inspire others with their dedication to land, water and wildlife habitat management on private, working land. In his influential 1949 book, “A Sand County Almanac,” Leopold called for an ethical relationship between people and the land they own and manage.

Applications for the New York AEM Leopold Conservation Award are now being accepted, with county Soil and Water Conservation Districts applying on behalf of the farm. Eligible candidates successfully incorporate AEM Best Management Practices into the management of the farm, which also assist the landowner in meeting business and environmental goals. Applicants should demonstrate conservation leadership and outreach in the agricultural sector and be an inspiration to other landowners.

Applications for the New York AEM Leopold Conservation Award must be received by the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets by May 27, 2022. Nominations will be reviewed by an independent panel of conservation leaders. Interested candidates should contact their local county Soil and Water Conservation District. Contact information can be found at

The application can be found at

"New York’s AEM-Leopold Conservation award is a great way to honor our state’s farmers who work so hard to protect our environment, preserve soil and water, and leave the land better than they found it," said Richard A. Ball, New York State Agriculture Commissioner. "I thank the Sand County Foundation and all of our partners for their teamwork in awarding on-farm environmental efforts in New York State, and encourage eligible farms to work with their local Soil and Water Conservation District to apply.”

“As a national sponsor for Sand County Foundation’s Leopold Conservation Award, American Farmland Trust celebrates the hard work and dedication of farmers, ranchers and forestland owners,” said John Piotti, AFT President and CEO. “At AFT we believe that conservation in agriculture requires a focus on the land, the practices and the people and this award recognizes the integral role of all three.”

“Recipients of this award are real life examples of conservation-minded agriculture,” said Kevin McAleese, Sand County Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer. “These hard-working families are essential to our environment, food system and rural economy.”

The AEM-Leopold Conservation Award Program in New York is made possible thanks to the generous support of American Farmland Trust, New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets, Cornell Cooperative Extension, Sand County Foundation, The Ida and Robert Gordon Family Foundation, Farm Credit East, New York State Agribusiness Association, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, and Audubon New York.

The first New York AEM Leopold Conservation Award recipient, Sang Lee Farms of Peconic, was selected in 2020. The 2021 recipient was Table Rock Farm of Castile.

About the Leopold Conservation Award Program

The Leopold Conservation Award is a competitive award that recognizes landowner achievement in voluntary conservation. Sand County Foundation presents the award in California, Colorado, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin, and in New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont). Learn more at

Sand County Foundation

Sand County Foundation inspires and empowers a growing number of private landowners to ethically manage natural resources in their care, so future generations have clean and abundant water, healthy soil to support agriculture and forestry, plentiful habitat for wildlife and opportunities for outdoor recreation.

New York State AEM Award

New York State’s annual Agricultural Environmental Management Award winners are chosen from nominees submitted by County Soil and Water Conservation Districts from around the state. The first Agricultural Environmental Management Award was presented in 2002; prior to that, the award was known as the Agricultural Stewardship Award.

New York State’s AEM framework is a model for the nation as a voluntary, incentive-based approach to protect natural resources and meet the economic needs of the agricultural community.

American Farmland Trust

American Farmland Trust is the only national organization that takes a holistic approach to agriculture, focusing on the land itself, the agricultural practices used on that land, and the farmers and ranchers who do the work. AFT launched the conservation agriculture movement and continues to raise public awareness through its No Farms, No Food message. Since its founding in 1980, AFT has helped permanently protect over 6.5 million acres of agricultural lands, advanced environmentally sound farming practices on millions of additional acres, and supported thousands of farm families.